Fancy a Fair in Šabac…
Sabac (Šabac) is located 85 km west of Belgrade on the Sava River. The town reached its peak in the 19th century largely because it is adjacent to the prosperous region of Vojvodina. Sabac was the first city in Serbia to have an orchestra, piano, hospital and pharmacy.
Built in 1931, the church of St. Peter and Paul dominates the city center. It features a rood screen iconostasis by Pavle Simić, a prominent 19th century painter. Located on the premises of the town’s 1856 junior high school, the National Museum displays a formidable collection of archeological, historical and ethnographical artifacts. The remarkable House of Krsmanović is located on Karađorđeva Street, the city’s main pedestrian walkway.
If you are looking for a unique destination, head to the nearby village of Metlić and visit the Ašik gravesite. It commemorates the tragic love between Pavle and Đula, the two main characters in a novel by Janko Veselinovic.
The Turks built the rectangular Sabac fortress in the medieval city of Zaslon in 1470. A canal surrounds the fortress, which has one remaining tower and all four walls.
Every year Sabac organizes the Orthodox Nativity of the Virgin Mary fair, which is considered to be one of the most festive events in Serbia. Since 1968, Sabac has hosted Čivijad, the most renowned humor and satire festival in Serbia.
Misar (Mišar) is a small town close to Sabac known as the site where the great Karađorđe defeated the Turks. The battle is described in the epic poem
Boj na Mišaru (Battle of Mišar).
The legendary Cer Mountain is the site of the battle of Cer. It was here that Stepa Stepanović led one of Serbia’s great victories of WWI. Today, this is a popular excursion site that features a beautiful mountain lodge with an amazing view of the Mačva plain. Cer Mountain is located just 25 km from Sabac.
Every June, the village of Lipolist hosts the Festival of the Lipolist Rose, which kicks off with a distribution of 1,000 roses in Sabac’s pedestrian walkway. Lipolist is renowned for its rose growing. The village exports approximately a third of its annual production of 700,000 rose seedlings to counties across the European Union.
Bogatić is situated in the far northwest corner of Serbia, at the mouth of the Drina and Sava rivers. Though the area’s tributary rivers, the Starača, Batar, Bitva and Žurava, have dried out, three quarters of the land here is highly fertile.
Visit the village of Dublje and discover its incredible hot water springs. At a depth of 412 meters, the water temperature here averages 75 degrees Celsius. The springs were discovered just 20 years ago. Bogatić borders Republika Srpska, which connects to Serbia via the Pavlović Bridge.
Loznica is located 139 km west of Belgrade. The Illyrians once inhabited this region. Its archaeological sites date back to 900 – 300 B.C.
The first modern sulfur baths were built in Koviljača Spa, just a few miles from Loznica. The spa, which is 142 km from Belgrade, dates back to the ancient times. The mineral water here is an ideal 15 to 28 degrees Celsius. The spa features a beautiful 20th century park, which is surrounded by grand old villas and hotels. The most beautiful is the 1932 Kursalon building, built by King Aleksandar Karađorđević. Because of his involvement, the spa is often referred to as the royal spa.
You will find Banja Badanja in the vicinity of the Drina river valley. The area features abundant hunting grounds in Boranja and Cer.
Just 17 kilometers from Loznica you will find the Tronoša monastery. Built by King Dragutin, the monastery’s church was completed just after his death in 1317. Subsequent ruling families, including the Nemanjići, Hrebeljanovići, Brankovići and Kotromani, later recognized the Tronoša monastery. In the course of the last few centuries, the monastery has been torn down and rebuilt numerous times. The most recent reconstruction was completed in 1961. Today, it features a museum dedicated to Vuk Karadžić, a prominent figure of Serbian culture. Karadžić learned to read and write here.
Just 6 km from Tronoša, the village of Tršić features an expansive ethno complex. Thirty-five of its facilities, including the Dositej museum and gallery, are under state protection. The complex includes Karadžić’s property, memorial house and barn. Each September, Tršić organizes an international gathering of Slavists from around the world known as Vukov Sabor. A visit to this site is a must!
When in Sabac, Bogatic and Loznica, we recommend:
- A visit to the Gallery of Mica Petrovic
- Buying a rose in Lipolist
- A visit to Vuk Karadžić house in Tršić
FOUNTAIN OF THE NINE JUGOVIĆI BROTHERS
According to legend, Jug-Bogdan and the nine Jugovići brothers built a fountain in front of the Tronoša monastery before they departed for the Battle of Kosovo. Archimandrite Metodije and Mladen Isaković, a salesman from Lešnica, Mladen Isaković, reconstructed it in 1894. Jovan, the bishop of Šabac-Valjevo and the abbot of the Tronoša monastery Antonije Đurđević renovated the chapel beside the fountain. The chapel is dedicated to the holy Panteleimon. Its exterior features a mosaic mural depicting Jug-Bogdan and the nine Jugovići brothers on their horses preparing to depart for the Battle of Kosovo.
INFORMATIONSTourist organization of the City of Šabac 5 Karađorđeva Street, 15 000 Šabac Phone: +381 15 347 383, 347 384 e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org www.sabac.org
Tourist organization of Loznica 20 Jovana Cvijića Street, 15 300 Loznica Phone: +381 15 878 520, 878 523 e-mail: email@example.com www.tool.org.rs