The political system

The Republic of Serbia is the state of the Serbian people and all its citizens who live in it and is founded on the rule of law and social justice, the principles of civil democracy, human and minority rights and freedoms, and commitment to European principles and values.

The political system in Serbia is based on multi-party parliamentary democracy. Serbia has a National Assembly, a President of the Republic and a government. The National Assembly is the supreme representative body and the holder of constitutional and legislative powers in the Republic of Serbia and comprises 250 deputies elected in direct elections. The President of the Republic represents the unity of the Republic of Serbia and represents the country at home and abroad. The president is elected in direct elections, for a term of five years. The government is the holder of executive power in the Republic of Serbia.

Local government is organised on the principle of local self-government through municipal or town assemblies, councils and administrative bodies.

Besides dozens of political parties there are also hundreds of non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and a large number of trade unions.


National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia
Kralja Milutina 14, 11000 Belgrade
tel: + 381 (0)11 3611-476