Language and alphabet

The Republic of Serbia officially uses the Serbian language and Cyrillic script. However, on public signs and in the media the Latin script is very often used, and both scripts are taught in school.

The Serbian language is a member of the South Slavic language family. Serbian Cyrillic has 30 characters, and each letter corresponds directly to one sound, which makes it unique in comparison to other writing systems.

Ethnic minorities have the constitutional and legal right to officially use their languages and alphabets in the areas they inhabit. In the autonomous provinces of Vojvodina and Kosovo and Metohija the ethnic minority languages of Hungarian, Slovakian, Croatian, Romanian, Rusyn and Albanian are in official use.