The territory of the Republic of Serbia covers an area of 88,361 km2. Of this, the two autonomous provinces cover:

  • 21,506 km2, 24% – Vojvodina
  • 10,887 km2, 12.3% – Kosovo and Metohija

The Republic of Serbia is organised territorially into:

  • Territorial units of local self-government: municipalities, towns and the City of Belgrade
  • Territorial autonomy: the Autonomous Province of Vojvodina and the Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija

In the Republic of Serbia there are 150 municipalities, 23 cities and the City of Belgrade, as the capital. The Republic of Serbia has 29 administrative districts, excluding the City of Belgrade which is the seat of all state administration bodies. Serbia has 6,169 populated areas, of which 207 are urban.

On the basis of United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244, Kosovo and Metohija has been under the temporary civil and military administration of the United Nations since 10th June, 1999.